Saturday, April 4, 2015

2015 Final Predictions

***The Season Preview and Predictions that follow are not betting advice in any way shape or form.  Please do not bet any money based in any part on these predictions.***

This looks like it will be another great season.  This could be one of the most competitive seasons in years and there are few teams who look like they have no chance at all to make the playoffs.  So get ready because it is a long, fun trip to October.  I hope everyone enjoys the ride as much as I will.

Head of the Class: 
The Giants, Cardinals and Dodgers look to remain at the top of the league while the Nationals seem to be on the verge of joining them.

The Red Sox and Tigers remain the favorites in the AL.

Look Out Below:
The Phillies, Braves and Reds have unloaded and seem to be falling to the bottom of the NL.

The A's, Royals and Angels look like they may suffer major setbacks after playoff runs in 2014.

Ready to Strike?:
The Cubs, Padres and Marlins are sparking excitement with young talent and big offseason pick ups.  The Mets also want to join in the October conversation.

The Mariners and Blue Jays want to make their first post season appearances in over a decade each.  The White Sox want to take advantage of an aging and injured Tiger team.

Rock Bottom:
The Rockies, Brewers and Phillies are definitely at the bottom.  Each will likely be unloading talent as the season progresses.

The Astros, Rangers, Rays and Indians look to be the worst in the AL although depending on how things play out the Yankees could join them.

Here is a final prediction of what I believe the standings will look like at the end of the year:
American League East
1. Toronto Blue Jays
2. Boston Red Sox (Wild Card)
3. Baltimore Orioles (Wild Card)
4 New York Yankees
5. Tampa Bay Rays

American League Central
1. Detroit Tigers
2. Chicago White Sox
3. Kansas City Royals
4. Minnesota Twins
5. Cleveland Indians

 American League West
1. Seattle Mariners
2. Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim
3. Oakland Athletics
4. Texas Rangers
5. Houston Astros

Wild Card Game:
Boston Red Sox over Baltimore Orioles
American League Divisional Series: 
Boston Red Sox over Detroit Tigers
Toronto Blue Jays over Seattle Mariners
American League Championship Series:
Toronto Blue Jays over Boston Red Sox

American League Most Valuable Player: Adam Jones, Baltimore Orioles
American League Cy Young Award Winner: Felix Hernandez, Seattle Mariners

1. Washington Nationals
2. Miami Marlins
3. New York Mets
4. Atlanta Braves
5. Philadelphia Phillies

1. St. Louis Cardinals
2. Pittsburgh Pirates
3. Chicago Cubs
4. Cincinnati Reds
5. Milwaukee Brewers

1. San Francisco Giants
2. Los Angeles Dodgers (Wild Card)
3. San Diego Padres (Wild Card)
4. Arizona Diamondbacks
5. Colorado Rockies

National League Wild Card Game: 
Los Angeles Dodgers over San Diego Padres
National League Division Series:
St. Louis Cardinals over San Francisco Giants
Washington Nationals over Los Angeles Dodgers
National League Championship Series: 
Washington Nationals over San Francisco Giants

National League Most Valuable Player:  Andrew McCutcheon, Pittsburgh Pirates
National League Cy Young Award Winner:  Steven Strasburg, Washington Nationals

Washington Nationals over Toronto Blue Jays

If correct, this year's prediction would mean that the Washington Nationals/Montreal Expos franchise would be appearing in their first ever World Series.  How many teams in the league have never reached the World Series?

Answer to Last Week's Question:
Mike Trout won the 2014 MVP.

In 1969, the year the league went to a divisional format, Harmon Killebrew of the Twins won the MVP, helping lead the Twins to the ALCS.

From 1971 through 1974 the AL West won every MVP (1971, Vida Blue A's, 1972, Dick Allen, White Sox, 1973, Reggie Jackson, A's and 1974 Jeff Burroughs, Rangers).  In 1977 Rod Carew won the MVP for the Twins.

Don Baylor led the Angels to the ALCS in 1979 and won the MVP and he was followed by the Royals' George Brett in 1980.

The East dominated the award until Jose Canseco's 40/40 season of 1988 and Rickey Henderson's 1990 season.  Dennis Eckersley made it three A's MVP's when he won the 1992 MVP and Cy Young.
Frank Thomas won the 1993 MVP in the last two division format season and although Thomas also won the 1994 MVP the Sox were in the Central.

From 1996 through 2004 the West dominated the award: 1996, Juan Gonzalez Rangers, 1997 Ken Griffey, Mariners, 1998 Juan Gonzalez, Rangers, 1999 Ivan Rodriguez, Rangers.  2000 Jason Giambi, A's, 2001 Ichiro Suzuki, Mariners, 2002 Miguel Tejada, A's, 2003 Alex Rodriguez, Rangers, 2004, Vladimir Guerrero, Angels.

Between Guerrero and Trout (2014) only Josh Hamilton of the Rangers (2010) won the MVP giving the division a total of 22 MVP.

1 comment:

  1. I know both your final picks have never made it to the end, but I hope your predictions aren't true. That sounds like an extra boring series since it's teams that I don't care about. LOL


Have questions about something in this or a former post? Have a suggestion for a future post? Want more information on a specific team, player, season or game? I welcome the feedback, so feel free to leave a comment in the box or email me at baseballeras (at) gmail (dot) com.